Fuchs Memorial Award

The Fuchs Memorial Award is the premier international prize in aerosol science. Presented every four years at the International Aerosol Conference, the award memorializes Nikolai Albertovich Fuchs, the great Russian scientist who is regarded by many as the “father of aerosol science.” The award recognizes outstanding worldwide contributions to the field of aerosol research.

The Fuchs Memorial Award Committee is comprised of two representatives from each of the three charter aerosol societies that sponsor the award, AAAR, Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung, and the Japan Association of Aerosol Science and Technology.

The regulations and procedures for the Fuchs Memorial Award are published on the IARA Website — http://www.iara.org/fuchs.htm

Past Recipients

1990 — Sheldon K. Friedlander
1994 — Benjamin Y. H. Liu (co-winner)
1994 — Othmar Preining (co-winner)
1998 — John H. Seinfeld
2002 — Kikuo Okuyama (co-winner)
2002 — A. A. Lushnikov (co-winner)

2006 — Richard C. Flagan (co-winner)
2006 — Peter H. McMurry (co-winner)
2010 — David Y.H. Pui (co-winner)
2010 — Markku Kulmala (co-winner)

AAAR Sponsors